And I will vindicate the holiness of my great name…

“It is not for your sake, O house of Israel, that I am about to act, but for the sake of my holy name, which you have profaned among the nations to which you came.”

“I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you shall be clean from all your uncleanliness, and from all your idols I will cleanse you. And I will give you a new heart[…] and I will put my Spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my ways[…] And I will vindicate the hotness of my great name, and the nations will know that I am the Lord.” Ezekiel 36:22-23, 25-27

We are created and loved by a God that is zealous about the glory of his name. His greatest goal is to uphold the glory and holiness of his name among all the nations. This is what we were created for: to make his name great, to “speak of the might of his awesome deeds, declaring his greatness, pouring forth the fame of his abundant goodness, and singing aloud of his righteousness”(psalm 145).

But we have fallen short. We’ve traded his perfection for the lies of the world. And through this, we’ve profaned his name. We’ve neglected to acknowledge it’s holiness and preeminence. We haven’t always represented it well. We’ve caved to selfishness and given in to temptations and idols.

But praise God! He’s so full of zeal for his name and overflowing with love and grace toward us. He chose to miraculously cleanse us and send us out with a new heart and a new Spirit in order to again make his name great among the nations. He trades out our hearts which fight against him for hearts in which his grace is victorious, where holiness replaces sinfulness. He gives us his Spirit to guide us in his ways and teach us to obey his rules. He recreated us in a glorious way, not that we would live for ourselves, but that we would make his name great all over the earth.

Leave a Reply

