The Everyday. The Mundane. The Beautiful and Glorious.

“Time flies like an arrow – but fruit flies like a banana.” -Terry Wogan

Right now I’m assuming you’re having one of two reactions: either wracking your brain to find some kind of deep, inspirational meaning to pull from this quote, or for all of you empathetic ones, feeling deep embarrassment on my behalf for pulling out yet another tacky pun, that I somehow find laugh-worthy.

But really, throw off the high-level cheesiness and cliche of this quote and it pretty accurately describes my thoughts and feelings recently.

TIME FLIES, folks.

I’m not sure how it’s possible, but in a little over two months I’ll be leaving this beautiful island and heading back to the homeland, venturing into a new season that the Lord has prepared and is preparing for me.

am I excited? Yes!

terrified? Slightly

sad? Absolutely..

Now, even more than my appreciation of cheesy puns and tacky cliches which teasingly hover over the surface of reality, is my love to dig deep, daring to ask myself the tough, painful questions to get to the heart of things. Writing is how I process. I love deep reflections on all my thoughts and experiences, but ask this introverted, internal processing girl to roll out a detailed debrief of all that’s going on in my life currently, and most likely I’ll just start rambling in circles. But give me time to sit alone for a couple hours, thinking, writing, praying, and I could write for you a fifty page dissertation on Joanna’s heart and mind(not that many would want to read such a thing).

But anywayyyy…here I go again, writing deep thoughts and analyses, when the purpose of this post was to come back to the simple, the everyday, the mundane. I’ve struggled lately to journal, perhaps because of laziness or just exhaustion. But these are times that I want to remember. The little moments that seem mundane and insignificant now are quite possibly the things that are shaping me in the most profound ways.

And so in these last few months of my journey in Cyprus, I want to write it all down. It may not always be beautifully written(I know, I’m already feeling the pain), some days it may just be a few words, but it’ll be here, creating a beautiful story. Though each piece may seem of little value on its own, when stitched together, a masterpiece will be made.

There is purpose in the everyday, the mundane.

These “Everyday Contemplations” posts are primarily for my own reflection, to help me to step back and process my daily encounters and experiences. As the veil is taken away from my eyes, allowing me to see with greater clarity the work God is doing in and around me, may my response be increased praise, resulting in increased glory to the Father.

So feel free to join me on this journey, and may praises be multiplied unto His name.


with love, Jo

“Every day I will bless you and praise your name forever and ever. Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised, and his greatness is unsearchable. One generation shall commend your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts. On the glorious splendor of your majesty, and on your wondrous works, I will meditate. They shall speak of the might of your awesome deeds, and I will declare your greatness. They shall pour forth the fame of your abundant goodness and shall sing aloud of your righteousness.” – Psalm 145:2-7

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

