“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness…”

 


My whole heart, everything within me cries out to the Lord as his creation. I could seek out every worldly pleasure, but still my heart would be restless without the Lord. He calls me into his presence to seek his face. He gives me strength in the waiting and fills my heart with courage, reminding me that his promises are true. My God is worthy of my trust, my full trust.

Living in full time ministry is not glamorous; it’s a lot of real, everyday life. Currently there are dirty dishes piled up in the sink that need to be washed, a growing grocery list on the counter, and the laundry that needed to be done yesterday still sits in a dirty stack beside my bed. Office hours, staff meetings, and training days fill up half of the week. But one thing the Lord has been teaching me is that the everyday mundane was never meant to be separated from the holy and the spiritual. I’m not here just to serve God when I help lead youth programs and bible studies. While those things are all great, and God is doing amazing things through those ministries, if my mind and heart to serve God stops when those things stop, am I really serving God or am I serving my own flesh, just doing things that “feel good”? The entirety of our lives as believers is to be set aside as holy, ALL that we do, every breath consecrated to the glory of the Father.

This is what we are called to as sons and daughters: seeking and serving God in everyday life, being faithful in the mundane, knowing that those moments are all His, and He is working in them. Seeking God’s face, not just His hands. It’s in the times when we can’t see where God is at work, when we can’t see his hands, that we should fall even deeper in love with him because we are reliant on seeking His face alone.

God calls us to SEEK FIRST his kingdom and his righteousness and promises to work all else out for our good and for his glory (Matt. 6:33). Our job is to seek him first, above all else, and as we submit in obedience to him he promises to complete the work.

SEEK: By it’s Greek definition, to seek means to search for, desire, require,  or demand. I think this call goes beyond just admiring God’s kingdom and righteousness, hoping that we can somehow play a part in it while we go on with life as we’ve always lived it. We are to desire the will of God above all else, to demand it’s rule in our lives. In Hosea 6:3 we read about this persistent search to know God and his righteousness: “Let us know; let us press on to know the Lord”. The verse then goes on to explain the faithfulness of God, the assurance that he will be found by those who repent from their unbelief and search for him, by those who demand his presence, those who demand to know him deeper. God will never refuse to heap more and more of his glory on us if we genuinely seek it, but sometimes that means we have to demand it, pressing into him until we receive the fullness of what he has for us.

FIRST: First means before all else, the greatest desire of our hearts. Seeking God’s kingdom and his righteousness should be what consumes our thoughts and dictates our actions and attitude. Whatever is first in your life will naturally become the source of your joy or lack of joy. If God’s kingdom and righteousness is truly the thing your heart seeks the most, the rest of your life, every decision, conversation, and wandering thought should shout his name and chase after his will. And let me tell you, he is so worth it! There could never be any created thing that is more worthy of our lives than the Creator. He can be trusted with our everything.

I wish I could say that I have mastered all of this, but that would be a lie. It’s easy to become so wrapped up in all of the work that needs to be done each day that I forget who it is that I’m serving. For me, winning this battle means starting each morning in the word and each office day or ministry time in prayer, letting the presence of God be the first thing my heart encounters. His presence is alive, it’s not just a feeling, and it changes things. Our hearts were created for God, so much so that his image is actually forged into us, we can’t get away from it no matter how much we drown ourselves in the world (Gen. 1:27). Let’s return to our Father and zealously seek him above ALL else. He’s so worthy.


 

Leave a Reply

