“and I will fill this house with glory”

God has been humbling me to see that he cannot be put in a box. He is not limited to my human understanding and ability. I have dreams in my mind of what I want or think this year will look like, but God has been challenging me to lay those things down. I think sometimes I make God so much smaller than he is, because things tend to be easier to understand that way. But when I loosen my grip on my own dreams and visions, and open up my heart, mind, and hands before God,  only then can I receive HIS VISION, which is always always so much greater than the “perfect” plans I make up on my own. God calls us to “walk steadily” along his path(Psalm 37:34). He doesn’t say, “walk with me when you feel like it or when it makes sense to the world”. He calls us to walk steadily, trusting in his faithful and steadfast love. God has abundant life for all of us, but in order to experience it fully we have to learn to give up our desires and instead give our “yes” to him ALL THE TIME, even when what he calls us to do seems impossible in our eyes.

Since being here in Cyprus God has been gently reminding me that the world is so much bigger than me. While he loves me and knows me fully, his love reaches beyond me, his love is for ALL people and ALL nations. I’ve been praying that the Father would share his heart for the people of Cyprus with me, and give me a passion to see his glory radiate from this city.

In Isaiah 54:2-3 the Lord speaks to the people of Israel and says, “Enlarge the place of your tent, and let the curtains of your habitations be stretched out; do not hold back; lengthen your cords and strengthen your stakes. For you will spread abroad to the right and to the left, and your offspring will possess the nations and will people the desolate cities”.

God made a promise of restoration to his people. Here in Isaiah he calls them to prepare for this restoration, trusting that the Lord’s word is true. He then goes on to say that they have no need to fear, for they “will not be ashamed”. When we, as the children of God, trust him and live lives of expectancy, knowing that he will fulfill his promises to us, we can be sure that he will not let us down in shame and disgrace. I feel the Lord is urging me, in the same way he was urging the people of Israel, to prepare my heart for his promises to be fulfilled, and fulfilled beyond my imagination.

He has great plans for the island of Cyprus and the youth who live here.

He is the God of this city, and cannot be limited to human vision.

He will “fill this house with glory”(Haggai 2:7).




Thank you so much for your continued support and prayers! Soon I will send out an email update to share with you what I am “doing” here in Cyprus. If you would like to be added to my email list message me or comment below 🙂 Also, check out my “pictures” page here on the blog for some snapshots of life here on the island!




Much love,

Jo

Leave a Reply

